the front door bend my ear that was Zen this is Dao

2 Mendel, 34 A.T. (Jun. 23, 2003) - 1:08 a.m.

I see a red door

I see the girls walk by dressed in their summer clothes
I have to turn my head until my darkness goes

As conversations go, it started easily enough. But it left me with feelings that wouldn't let me get to sleep. So I decided to get up and type them out, and in the process, I came to a conclusion on what they were really about. It may be a completely wrong-headed conclusion, but it's the only one that really makes sense to me.

In the course of a phone conversation with CB, I happened to mention that I still entertain thoughts of working on an alternate version of Harry Potter and the Flack-Jacket Mafia � one that tells the entire story from Harry's point of view, what he was doing during scenes when the camera was elsewhere. I thought that we had discussed this recently and she had warmed to the idea.

I thought wrong.

To me, this was just a form of auctorial exercise, no different from my plan to write the story of Harry's schooldays entirely from the viewpoint of Severus Snape. To the Canadibrit, on the other hand, it was meta-fic � letting someone else write her characters � a phenomenon on which she got burned once before and which she has no intention of ever allowing again. No matter how many times I repeated that anything with Lynn or AP in it would have to go past her eyes for approval before seeing any other set of eyes, my protestations cut as much ice as the proverbial soap hacksaw.

She felt the need (or it felt like she felt the need) to remind me of how wrong it was for me to even contemplate writing new material for her characters, over and over and over and over and OVER and OVER and OVER and OVER and OVER and OVER and
I must not tell lies
I must not tell lies
I must not tell lies
I must not tell lies
I must not tell lies

At any rate, I ended up screaming into the phone about how wrong I am, how I'm a mistake, how I'm incapable of doing anything right even by accident, how I'm evil (and I didn't mean that in the sense of just thinking I do evil things, or even merely thinking I'm an evil person � no, I literally felt that I was the embodiment and sole source of all evil in the universe).

In his email to me, the Manhunter spoke of my self-loathing. I'd say he didn't know the meaning of the word, but it's possible he did. Sometimes, what resonates most in us about someone else is our similarities to em. Other times, it's our differences from em. Others still, we think it's one when it's actually the other. Still, I doubted anybody who hasn't actually been on suicide watch can understand the depths to which my self-loathing can sink, any more than you can fit the Pacific Ocean into a thimble.

I see people turn their heads and quickly look away
Like a new born baby, it just happens everyday

It was only when I sat down to write this that the tears came, the tears I hadn't even realized I was keeping bottled up for the last thirty-some hours. I was looking for lyrics to the song named below, so I could use them as an alt-tag to the image, and found one page playing a piano MIDI of it.

I found myself singing along with it. I felt the tears come, felt my voice choke up on the word "never". And I realized what I was really feeling.

In Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, as much of the Western world presumably knows by now (and the rest doesn't care about spoiler warnings), somebody dies. Not a major character; his death is purely a signal that this is not a "children's story" in the way cute names like "Albus Dumbledore" might lead a casual or uninterested reader to believe. This is what Neal Stephenson, in The Diamond Age, has his characters call "unreconstructed Brothers Grimm".

In the new book, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, as a number of reviews have mentioned, death comes closer to Harry. This time, it strikes someone the reader has presumably come to care about. Certainly, judging by the treatment of this character in fan-fiction up to now, a great many of the individual readers who make up the abstract propositional function "the reader" had certain understandable ideas about how the character's future should and would go.

No more will my green sea go turn a deeper blue
I could not foresee this thing happening to you

There's a page in Jim Starlin's graphic novel The Death of Captain Marvel that's basically one giant cry of

UNFAIR!
UNFAIR!
UNFAIR!
UNFAIR!
UNFAIR!

because it is. It's unfair that a superhero should defeat a radioactive villain, only to succumb to cancer incurred during the battle. (Addendum: it's unfair that a writer/artist's father should die of cancer, which I'm told is what Starlin was really writing about.) It's unfair that Prince Humperdinck gets to kill Westley, even temporarily. Just as it's unfair that one who has shown Harry such boundless loyalty should be the one to make that unbearable sacrifice.

But, as the grandpa who reads S. Morgenstern's classic tale of true love and high adventure to his grandson points out, who said life was fair? The man who wrote the abridgement in which Morgenstern's work is best known today, and then abridged it still further into a screenplay, made the same point in one of his auctorial asides: Some of the wrong people die.

Maybe nobody is immune. JKR has occasionally hinted that Harry himself will not necessarily survive Book Seven. Frodo had to go over Sea in the end, had to be willing to lose everything so that what he was losing would still be around for others to enjoy.

I just wish it didn't have to hurt so much. But I suspect that Tom Riddle does not have a well-organized mind, and that's why he did the things he did. That's why his followers are no longer called the Knights of Walpurgis. That's something he has in common with Anakin Skywalker and Victor Von Doom.

And with that, in the words of Destiny of the Endless, I have told you all I tell you.

I wanna see it painted, painted black / Black as night, black as coal / I wanna see the sun blotted out from the sky...
You are "Paint it Black." One part
suffering, one part anger, one part creepy, you
are the perfect amalgamation of rock and a
spirit that just can't take it anymore. Then,
of course, there are those people who think
you're all about an acid trip. Whatever; use
your imagination. You're clearly good at it.



Which Rolling Stones Song Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

-30-

last time, on The Slack Shack - our next inciting exstallment

that ye may know me who am us, anyway? tell your friends the front door